

**Members Present:** Tim Lyon, Karla Robida, Boyd Johnson, Robyn Sonstegard, Corryn Trask, Lynn Ellis

## **Members Absent:**

Others Present: Mary Merchant, Jill Olson, Woody Fiala

- 1. Call to Order by Chair Lyon at <u>7:31</u> AM.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- **3.** Agenda Motion by <u>Boyd Johnson</u> second by <u>Karla Robida</u> to approve the agenda.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y The motion passes.

### 4.-7. Nominations

I'll open the floor for nominations for Board Chair, Vice Chair, Clerk and Treasurer.

Boyd Johnson (1st) & Kara Robida (2nd) Nominates the following:

<u>Corryn Trask</u> for **Board Chair** 

Tim Lyon (1st) & Lynn Ellis (2nd) Nominates the following:

Boyd Johnson for Vice Chair

Tim Lyon (1st) & Boyd Johnson (2nd) Nominates the following:

Lynn Ellis for **Board Clerk** 

Tim Lyon (1st) & Robyn Sonstegard (2nd) Nominates the following:

Karla Robida for Board Treasurer

Once the nominees have been identified for all the offices noted above, repeat twice, "Are there any other nominations?" If none then state,

"There being no other nominations, the Chair will close the floor for further nominations and call for a vote on the slate of candidates as presented. All those in favor signify by saying aye, all those opposed the same sign."

(If the vote of the majority is in favor of the slate of candidates as presented, the election of officers is complete.)

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y The slate of candidates passes.

(The new Chair takes over the meeting following the vote on Board positions.)

# 8. Financial Institutions - Designated Depositories

Motion by <u>Lynn Ellis</u> second by <u>Robyn Sonstegard</u> to name Border State Bank, US Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, Minnesota Trust and MSDLAF as designated depositories.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

## 9. Official Newspaper

Motion by <u>Karla Robida</u> second by <u>Tim Lyon</u> to name the Northern Light Region as the official newspaper for the school district.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

### 10. Meeting Dates/Times for 2023

Motion by <u>Lynn Ellis</u> second by <u>Karla Robida</u> to set meeting dates for 2023 as follows:

January 23 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) February 27 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) March 27 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) April 24 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) May 22 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) June 26 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) July 24 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) August 28 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) September 25 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) October 23 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) November 27 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room) December 18 (Working Session @ 6:00 PM & Regular Meeting @ 7:00 PM in ITV Room)

Ellis <u>Y</u> Lyon <u>Y</u> Robida <u>Y</u> Johnson <u>Y</u> Trask <u>Y</u> Sonstegard <u>Y</u> **Motion passes.** 

### **11. Board Compensation**

Motion by <u>Robyn Sonstegard</u> second by <u>Tim Lyon</u> to set Board Compensation for 2023 at \$\_75.00 per meeting, Board Chair at \$\_100.00 per Board Meeting.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

#### 12. Mileage Allowance per District Policy

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

#### 13. Meal Allowance per District Policy

Motion by <u>Boyd Johnson</u> second by <u>Robyn Sonstegard</u> to set meal allowance for 2023 at \$ 50.00 per day.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

#### 14. Legal Counsel

Motion by <u>Lynn Ellis</u> second by <u>Robyn Sonstegard</u> to appoint Pemberton Law Firm as legal counsel for the School District for 2023.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

#### **15. Committee Assignments**

Motion by <u>Lynn Ellis</u> second by <u>Robyn Sonstegard</u> to make Committee Assignments for 2023 per attached roster.

Ellis Y Lyon Y Robida Y Johnson Y Trask Y Sonstegard Y Motion passes.

16. Adjourn by Chair <u>Corryn Trask</u> at <u>7:53</u> AM.

Chair, Corryn Trask

Date

Clerk, Lynn Ellis

Date